The Rothschild Prize

In 1959 Yad Hanadiv established the Rothschild Prizes to support, encourage and advance the Sciences and Humanities in Israel. Prizes are awarded in recognition of outstanding scientific achievements, breakthroughs or discoveries in the following disciplines: Mathematics, Computer Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, Jewish Studies and Humanities.   

In 2022 up to four prizes will be awarded in the following categories: Humanities, Jewish Studies and Social Sciences; files will be reviewed by an especially appointed committee chaired by Prof. David Shulman. Please note that the eligibility criteria have changed since the last time the Prize was awarded.

Nomination forms can be accessed at:

All material must be submitted in English.

Nominations must reach Yad Hanadiv by midnight, 17 May 2021, Israel time.

Click to nominate a candidate online





Who Can Apply

Candidates must be full-time faculty at Israeli institutions of higher learning.
Emeritus faculty are not eligible to receive the Prize.
Candidates must be permanent residents of Israel.

How to Apply

The public is invited to submit nominations for the Prize.
Nomination forms can be accessed at: 



Gallery Year

Committee Members

The Rothschild Prize
Professor David Shulman
Leading scholars in the relevant fields will evaluate the candidates.

Search All Recipients